Seeking Balance

3 - Frostvale Retreat

Seeking Balance

So, the gnomes' device did not cook me inside out. At this point, this is way better than I expected. Apparently, I am now an important piece in the war between the dwarves and the Frostmane Tribe—and let me remind you, this all started with me just wanting to hang out in Anvilmar. I must now help the gnomes with their covert operations.

Seeking Balance

I know what most of you are thinking: 'Dwarves, gnomes, what exactly is going on here? Is this the kingdom of shorties, and are we to expect hobbits next?' The explanation is simple—the dwarves and the gnomes are very close, both geographically and in terms of skills. The gnomes are superintelligent inventors who can design amazing things, while the dwarves are superskilled craftsmen who can build them. Combined, they are a force to be reckoned with. I may or may not have left out the part where the gnomes moved in with the dwarves because they flooded their own city with radioactive waste, but other than the occasional nuclear disaster, gnomes are pretty chill.

Seeking Balance

Back to the matter at hand. This is where Snivek (anagram, wink wink) the Blade entrusts me with the next part of their plan. Sure, I have to kill a few Frostmane trolls to reduce their numbers, but remember how the Alliance tends to avoid killing civilians? Well, some fates are worse than death, I suppose. The gnomes have constructed a device they call the 'Viewpoint Equalizer,' which I am to use on the non-hostile trolls who are repairing or building things. In doing so, they shrink to slightly-less-than-gnome sizes, becoming significantly weaker and unable to use their tools. To top off the great tradition of attacking primitive tribes with high-end weaponry, after I kill their leader Battok the Berserker, I am to order an airstrike. One might say this is a bit of overkill, but again, this comes from the fine tiny folks who nuked their own city, so I don't know why I expected anything better from them.

Seeking Balance

In the meantime, I couldn't help but notice the peaceful little critters that surrounded us. To the unknowing eye, these critters are nothing but a nice addition to the environment. But to those who are aware that the World of Warcraft holds its own version of Pokemon, only two words come to mind: PET BATTLES! Granted, you don't throw anything as fancy as a Pokeball at the would-be-yours critters you encounter; instead, you rely on an old wooden crate. But with a world as massive as this one, there is simply no resisting the allure of traveling the continents and trying to catch them all.

Seeking Balance

Thankfully, the horrors of working with the Gnomes come to an end. Supposedly, the trolls are raiding Amberstill Ranch to the north, and Captain Tharran asked me to go there and meet with Sergeant Flinthammer to see how we can handle the situation. Call me crazy, but I think the answer is going to be violence.

Until next time,
Blennon

Blennon's journey takes place in the Argent Dawn(EU) server. If you want to keep following Blennon's adventures, subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

Seeking Balance I don't know why, but I see a lot of young kids posting about goats and I wanted to be cool too #GOAT #FYP #INSTAZEROTH #QUESTINGWITHSHORTIES