Seeking Balance

Chapter 3 - Wetlands

I arrived in the Wetlands on a request from Mountaineer Stormpike. My task was simple: check if two of his finest dwarves, carrying a keg of his finest beer, had safely delivered it to its intended destination. Predictably, they hadn't. The keg had been stolen by a local orc tribe. It’s important to note that most, if not all, of the orcs encountered so far are not members of the Horde but Twilight Worshippers.

I managed to retrieve the keg and delivered it to the Slabchisel Survey. The dwarves there were studying the effects of the Stonewrought Dam’s destruction, which had caused flooding and chaos in the area. Wildlife was running amok, elementals were on a rampage, and the camp was in total disarray. After helping them get everything up and running again, I successfully obtained a report from deep within Thelgen Rock suggesting that a catastrophic earthquake was imminent. I was tasked with delivering this information to Menethil.

Transportation to Menethil was arranged, but this time, instead of precarious gnomish technology, I traveled on a very fast and extremely sturdy goat.

Seeking Balance

Menethil was in no state to offer help. The city was more flooded than Venice, to the extent that I had to fend off sharks to keep local children safe. Menethil Keep was overrun by Dark Iron dwarves, which I had to clear out. There, I met a curious figure, First Mate Fitzsimmons, the sole survivor of the Third Fleet. After a bit of alcohol, he entrusted me with a quest to find a forbidden artifact that the sailors had been protecting—the Eye of Paleth. After acquiring the Eye and returning to Menethil Harbor to seek a priest's help to cleanse it, I was shocked to learn that the Eye had been retrieved long ago and that Fitzsimmons had been dead for just as long. The nature of the item I brought back, and the identity of my mysterious quest giver, remained enigmatic.

Next, I assisted the engineers of Swiftgear Station and the archaeologists of Whelgar's Retreat. The challenges were typical: uncontrolled elementals and upset wildlife. I also reclaimed a shipment of gold ingots headed for Ironforge's treasury and collected fossils from creatures that seemed unaware of their own demise, continuing to roam the area. After dealing with a nearby Dragonmaw orc camp, I was sent to assist the local druids.

Seeking Balance

The Greenwarden's Grove made me feel like I was back home in Darnassus—beautiful buildings, huntresses, druids, and a majestic mirebeast ten times my size. Once again, I needed to repel attacks from the Dragonmaw, Dark Iron dwarves, and this time, fire elementals. Just as I thought this mission was becoming repetitive, I encountered a local dwarven legend—Thargas Anvilmar! Surely you remember Anvilmar from Chapter 1, right? With his aid, we confronted the Dark Iron dwarves on Thandol Span, and cleared the way to the Arathi Highlands!

Until next time,
Blennon

Blennon's journey takes place in the Argent Dawn(EU) server. If you want to keep following Blennon's adventures, subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

Seeking Balance